Maps Maps Maps

dotty-cars

Quite often I find that the overlay I need is more technical in nature. Instead of showing a dinosaur or car headlights (see earlier posts), I have to illustrate a somewhat more complex concept. Again it will be one that isn’t so easy to demonstrate.

In this case it was to suggest that uber drivers were circumventing licensing laws in the state of Queensland. The script would be easier to understand if we could show that these drivers were collecting people and moving them around town, but we had no cars and this was supposed to happen in the middle of another scene. So I made a graphic that could be dropped into the existing shots.

I wanted to show the path the driver might take driving around town in a cool way. I grabbed a bunch of street map images and placed a rough path over some streets. I applied an array modifier with a small round object that would follow this path. All I had to do was animate the array count to increase and the dots would trace out a path.

I performed this effect over a number of different maps but I wanted a unique iteration of a camera zoom in (actually a dolly in) on each image. So I set up a camera move then duplicated that out over the subsequent images. In the VSE I added a scene strip and nominated the appropriate camera for that strip. I then pushed the strips out end to end so that I would get a series of moves.

In fact what I found is that you can switch the active scene camera in the VSE and apply that to the Compositor scene render node, so you can render from the compositor with blurs and glows and all that neat stuff.

crs-setup

 

Leave a Reply

